blessings

I have been so incredibly blessed.  Just over and over I am showered with the blessings of the people around me.  They are being Christ’s hands and feet to me. I have meals for months, message after message after message encouraging me and holding me up. Cards up to the ceiling. People coming in just to keep me company, help me in any way I will let them 🙂  I never could have dreamed in a million years that people cared so much, had so much to give.

God has blessed me in numerous and vast ways.

I thank God most of all for my new perspective.  I let my  daughter wear high water pants today without a blink of an eye.  If you know me, that’s big. HUGE.

For HOPE. That I will see my son again.  Life passes in the blink of an eye.  Our lifetimes are like grains of sand on the beach of the universe.  I will see him and will know him and hold him again in heaven.  I know that he is at complete peace and complete happiness in heaven.  He gets to see God. Talk to God.  Know God in a way none of us can.  I’m jealous. Its that, “this is not goodbye its see you later” that IS HOPE.

I am blessed with a new community of women that embraced me, comforted me, loved on me, distracted me (in a good way).  I believe Lucas whispered in God’s ear to send them to me.  Before, Lucas was my human comfort.  Now they are, amongst many others.

New life has been breathed into my marriage.  We now lean on each other in a way that we never did before.  We appreciate each other in a brand new way.  Beauty has come from ashes.

I am blessed that I had a son like Lucas.  That he is inspiring others, and it is my hope and fervent prayer that is spreads and spreads.  That others may know his Jesus.

This is one of my favorite verses.  Our pastor always ended the service with it.

“The Lord bless you
and keep you;
the Lord make his face shine on you
and be gracious to you;
the Lord turn his face toward you
and give you peace.”

Numbers 6: 24-26

16 thoughts on “blessings

  1. Beautiful…inspiring….blessed!
    Continuing to lift you up.
    Life is short, we need to slow down and appreciate what/who we have.
    I know my family and I have gained renewed perspective.
    Thank you for pouring out your heart and soul.
    Your beautiful boy is so proud of his momma.
    May we all Live Like Lucas.
    ️❤️

    Like

  2. Melissa,

    I am blessed by the words you write each day, reminding me of the things that truly matter in this life – to appreciate each moment and make my time here count. To find beauty from pain and heartache, to enjoy and love on the people God has placed in my life – to make time for the important things. You are inspiring, and I thank you for sharing your heart through this blog.

    I am so very glad that you are experiencing beauty from the ashes in such a raw and powerful way. I continue to pray for you and your family every day. For God to continue to hold you and keep you – and for you to feel His blessings made new each day, that you would continue to turn your face and heart towards him and feel his peace and abounding love. Lifting you up in love, always.

    Like

  3. P.S. I saw the sun rising over by the high school today and couldn’t help but think of your Lucas up in heaven. Just a glimpse of the beauty he is a experience there.

    Like

  4. Your posts Melissa have opened my eyes to many emotions I shut off in my life after the loss of my beloved little sister seven years ago to ovarian cancer. I began to isolate myself and have not been able in these 7 years to shake her loss and the pain it brings even knowing she is with our Lord and she is well. I have found such encouragement and understanding through your writings. I know He has a purpose and He knows the plan He has for us before we ever will. My prayers have been with you and your family since Lucas left us behind. so enjoy your messages and so happy God showed you a way to work through your grief / love / faith. Blessings.

    Like

  5. I don’t know Cindy but I say AMEN!! To her response. You ought to write a daily devotional every day . That is your gift. What a blessing you are. Keep it up . That’s why you are were you are in your grief. Lucas is so proud of his mamma.

    Like

  6. Melissa your unwavering faith is beyond encouraging! Lucas is so alive in YOU! Your authenticity in your blog is touching lives(mine included) in a way that only could be done by someone who is overflowing with the Holy Spirit. I desire to make my marriage better and let go of the petty things that once seemed important. Thank you and God bless you and I continu to pray

    Like

  7. I have shared the link to your blog with someone I know who lost her son a couple days ago. I am so thankful that you are sharing the reality of your pain in writing and along with it the examples of how God is giving you the strength to endure. Since I haven’t endured what you have I am not able to offer my friend what your blogs can offer her. Keep writing – who knows, maybe God will some day lead you to publish this to help others. Until then, you already are helping others even in your deepest of grief by sharing hope. I pray for you and your family every day.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Melissa, I have been wanting to write to you since that heartbreaking day. But I just couldn’t find the words. I felt heartbroken and helpless. I am so very sorry for your loss. I can’t even imagine what you are going through. I have been following your blog the whole time. It just breaks my heart for anyone that has to go through this. Your writing is beautiful, encouraging and has really made me think. So many things you wrote about I have felt the same way, except my loss was my father. It will be 5 years in June and I miss him terribly. Everyday is a struggle to get through without breaking down. But I tell myself I have to get out of bed, I have to go to work, I have to keep moving. I have to be strong. There are so many people who have endured so much worse. I see the sadness in my moms eyes all the time. She is heartbroken without my dad. I need to be strong for her. So I ask myself what is wrong with me ? Why can’t get ahold of this and get back to living and enjoying life again.? They say there is no time limit on grieving and there isn’t a certain way you have to act or things you should or shouldn’t do. How you get through a loved ones passing is different for every person. My dad was my hero, my go to guy, my protector. He could make everything ok when it wasn’t. I was daddy’s girl. My dad could make anyone feel special just by the way he said hello to you with his big smile from ear to ear. He was such a charmer with the girls. He would say “Hello Darlin” and you got a BIG hug ! Everyone knew my dad “Woody”
    I still can’t believe my dad is gone. He was healthy, and active and only 74yrs old. On the 25 of June, 2010 he was out golfing and on the 17th hole he hit the ball and got back in the golf cart and collapsed and he was gone. I ask myself all the time how and why did this happen ? It’s not fair ! He was retired and loved the game of golf so much he decided to set up his truck with golf clubs,balls and bags and sell them on Alden Nash/ i96 just off the Lowell exit.
    With a big sign in the back of his truck that said WOODY’S Off the Truck Golf Sales. I am thankful that he was able to have his golf sales out there for a lot of years. But the loss of my dad has been so hard. And then I think of you and your family, and I read how strong you are, your words have so much meaning in them. I can’t begin to know the depth of your pain, I have watched my cousin and a few friends go through what your going through and it’s heartbreaking, I feel helpless because there is nothing I can say or do for them to take their pain away. Thank you so much for sharing Your blog. Your words and the replies I read are all so helpful and all have a little something different that will make a difference in someone’s life. I will continue to keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers. Xoxo
    FAITH… IS TAKING THE FIRST STEP, EVEN WHEN YOU DON’T SEE THE WHOLE STAIRCASE.

    Like

  9. Melissa,
    You truly are an inspiration! You are so strong and it makes me so happy that you can see and be thankful for your blessings through all the pain and heartache. Thank you for helping us all remember that we need to cherish everyday….every moment. I continue to pray for you and your family every single day….many times a day. You are the first people I think of when I wake up in the morning, and the last people I think of before I fall asleep. I also pray daily that more people will start to Live Like Lucas. What a beautiful place this world could be if more people simply Live Like Lucas! =)

    Like

  10. Melissa and family. Not a day has gone by that I haven’t thought about you and your family. Praying for you daily that you find some peace through all this. Your blog is an inspiration to me and many others. I sense some healing on your part. Keep clinging to your family, faith and God. Love you and pray for your continued healing and peace.

    Precious Lord

    When the darkness appears and the night draws near
    And the day is past and gone
    At the river I stand
    Guide my feet, hold my hand
    Take my hand precious Lord, lead me home

    Like

Leave a Reply

