Don’t be scared, be Lucas

Someone just told me “don’t be scared, be Lucas. Be the momma he would want you to be.”  I couldn’t agree more- especially about the be like Lucas part.  I have already changed so much.  I hope to be so much more Christlike.  Lucas-like.  My daughter said to me last night, through her tears, “Lucas was like Jesus. He wanted to help people.”

That pretty much sums it up for me.  Its not about Live Like Lucas- its really Live Like Jesus.  Sometimes it helps though, to have a real human being to look to who lived and walked among us, in 2015, to really shake us into that life.  My goal Is that everyone who looks at Lucas’ life and wants to encompass his kindness, compassion, authenticity, and faith turns to Jesus. That is what its really about.  I will not stop trying until the day the Lord calls me to heaven.  God is using this to turn people to him.  I feel it in my bones.

I am always thinking about how it took me going into this horrific painful place to get me to realize how to really lean on God. Then I thought, for me it took being at the bottom of that gorge to see the beauty of the mountain tops.  A friend sent this verse to me-

“When my heart is overwhelmed, lead me to the rock that is higher than I.”

I think that is one of the most beautiful verses I have ever heard.

I am praying that everyone is led to that rock.

4 thoughts on “Don’t be scared, be Lucas

  1. ❤️ Your amazing ability to capture your heart and then write about it, is a gift. Your spirit is getting stronger every day Melissa, I sense it through your words. Sure,it’s days are hard, unbearable even. But You are climbing this mountain with grace. And when you fall into the valley, you cling to the rope that is wrapped tight around you that leads to the Rock high up on that mountain. This huge burden you carry in your soul is not hindering your walk toward God and that, my friend, is what will get you through this.

    Like

  2. How beautiful put yes God’s love is with you –He is our Father to lean on –to ask for help–many have been praying & I thank God for His answer–His words even those told to you from His messengers–your daughter & the person telling you to be Lucas! I listened to Joel Osteen’s message today & thought of you –he was saying no matter how difficult or hard we as Christians must wake up each day with purpose fulfilling the day with His love . I ask God that each day it can become easier . Your words are helping others besides you–God bless you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

