rock

Since 5:30 am this song has played in my head.

“On Christ the Solid Rock I stand

All other ground is sinking sand

All other ground is sinking sand

My hope is built on nothing less
Than Jesus’ blood and righteousness;
I dare not trust the sweetest frame,
But wholly lean on Jesus’ name.”

Hope.  I still have hope right? Yes. Yes I do.  Somewhere in the swirling anxious shaking agony I have hope. I don’t think I can bear this.  It can’t be true.  It can’t be true.  I am drifting in a sea of agony and torture, wanting to submerge myself and feel nothing.

“On Christ the solid Rock I stand. All other ground is sinking sand.”

I lay on the solid rock.  It is smooth and unyielding.  I am not drifting.  I have a rock.  It feels silky and yet impenetrable. The coolness feels good on my face. I cannot sink.

  1. When darkness veils His lovely face,
    I rest on His unchanging grace;
    In every high and stormy gale,
    My anchor holds within the veil.
  2. His oath, His covenant, His blood
    Support me in the whelming flood;
    When all around my soul gives way,
    He then is all my hope and stay.
  3. When He shall come with trumpet sound,
    Oh, may I then in Him be found;
    Dressed in His righteousness alone,
    Faultless to stand before the throne.

I think these are some of the most beautiful words ever written.  When I feel I cannot be comforted, when I feel I cannot endure this pain, I will lay on the rock.  When there is too much darkness I am grasping for Jesus I will rest on his grace.

Grace: the free and unmerited favor of God, as manifested in salvation of sinners and bestowal of blessings.  His grace is my anchor.

When all around my soul gives way, He is then all my hope and stay.

On Christ the solid rock I stand.  Or if I cannot stand.  I will lay on it and know that there is a foundation under me. I will not sink.

rocks

10 thoughts on “rock

  1. Amen. Praising the Lord for His grace, His faithfulness and the incredible things He uses to sustain us during our darkest days and our most heart wrenching trials. The words of that hymn are God breathed…. Continuing to lift you and your family up in prayer, asking that God will immerse you in His presence, and the peace that only He can give.

    Like

  2. We sang this song at church at Sunday and I immediately thought of you.

    We will Rise Again

    1. Like a shepherd I will feed you; I will gather you with care.
    I will lead you and hold you close to my heart.

    Refrain : We will run and not grow weary, for our God will be our strength,
    and we will fly like the eagle, we will rise again.

    2. I am strength to the weary; to the weak I am new life.
    Though the young may grow weary, I will be their hope.

    3. Lift up your eyes, and see who made the stars.
    I lead you, and I know you, I call you each by name.

    4. Fear not, I am with you; I am your God.
    I will strengthen you and help you; uphold you with my hand.

    May you experience peace today that exceeds all understanding.

    Like

  3. Melissa….you truly are a writer!!! You need to publish. You are grieving & yet you put your soul into every word. Sharing your inner most feelings is a gift. You have a way with words….and pictures too. You find just the exact words to use…the exact Bible verse….the song…the pictures. Put this into a book! Oh…I know you aren’t done yet….you may never be done writing.

    Like

  4. God chose that song for you. A great song brought back memories of singing it so many times as I grew up. Believe in it! Know when you are down Jesus is soooo close & angels surround you due to your love for Christ! Thinking of you daily & praying for you! Keep writing –your words which depict your heart are precious! Our emotions & feelings as humans are so fragile but the spirit in us which is the Holy Spirit gives us strength. God helps us when we ask as He has helped you by thinking of that song & other Christians giving you songs & verses for strength. God bless

    Like

  5. So powerful. What incredible words to bring you strength right now. Your testimony is amazing. Your trust and reliance on God is inspiring. He is right there with you all the time. Praying for you daily. Praying that each day you find hope in Christ.

    Like

Leave a Reply

